font size


Bandar Seri Begawan, Thursday, 4 April 2013

The ASEAN Finance Ministers continued their meeting with the plenary session today. It was chaired by the Honourable Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Setia Dato Seri Setia Haji Abd Rahman bin Haji Ibrahim, the Second Minister of Finance at the Prime Minister’s Office of Brunei Darussalam.

In the ASEAN Joint Ministerial Statement issued after the Meeting, the ASEAN Finance Ministers, Central Bank Governors Troika and the ASEAN Secretary General expressed their utmost gratitude to His Majesty the Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam for graciously consenting to grant an audience at the Istana Nurul Iman yesterday.

The plenary session was attended by ASEAN Finance Ministers, Central Bank Governors Troika from Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia and Myanmar, the ASEAN Secretary General and representatives from international financial institutions including the Asian Development Bank, the International Monetary Fund , the World Bank and the ASEAN +3 Macroeconomic Research Office.

The meeting focused on amongst other things, regional economic developments and outlook, the ASEAN surveillance process, the ASEAN Economic Community, the Roadmap for Financial and Monetary Integration of ASEAN, initiatives under the ASEAN Central Bank Governors’ forum, ASEAN finance cooperation, and ASEAN +3 finance cooperation.

The Ministers also welcomed Brunei Darussalam’s initiative to convene an ASEAN conference on Financial Literacy this year. This conference will provide a platform for dialogue and exchange of experiences and best practices between ASEAN member countries on promoting financial literacy effectively in the region. The Ministers also recognised the far-reaching benefits of Financial Literacy and education in contributing to the well-being of the ASEAN community. This initiative is in line with Brunei Darussalam’s ASEAN Chairmanship theme this year, ‘Our People, Our Future Together’.

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) consists of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam.